top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's picturemichaelbalsdon

28th September Update and Review

The editing process has finally come to an end. Condensing footage filmed over 7 months into one five minute film was not an easy task. I am very tempted to create a longer and more detailed film which will enable me to use the interviews, shots and conversations that didn't make it into the final project.



If this whole filmmaking experience has taught me anything it's that the beauty of documentary filming comes from how you cannot script what you film and can never predict what' going to happen when you turn your camera on. When it came to the things that Mel would say when I interviewed her, I never thought they would be so enlightening and also they helped to amplify the themes that I wanted to showcase in my film.





In the end my film was about the hard work that women on the farm undertake and how farming never acts as an obstacle to the relationship between a mother and their child. Despite the demanding and tiring nature of lambing season, Mel took the time to include Lola in her day to day activities and this pair with Lola's enthusiasm for farm work at such a young age strengthened the pairs bond as a result.


I want to express massive gratitude to North Devon Moving Image for allowing me the opportunity to make this film as it was their funding and faith in me that allowed me to hone my filmmaking skills and buy the equipment that helped me to create a better quality and more professional looking film.




9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Where is Lenny Theroo?

In late 2018 one of the worlds most renowned documentary makers disappeared from the face of the earth. Lenny Theroo is well known for exploring the strange nature of human beings but it seems his re

bottom of page